Manitoba’s Cosmos Cricket Club Clinches Western 2022 JOHN RossRobertson Championship!

With an undefeated record of victories in
both of its matched played, Manitoba’s
Cosmos Cricket Club have been crowned
Western 2022 John Ross Robertson Trophy
Champions. Cosmos won both of its matches against the
Saskatoon Warriors and the British Columbia Abbotsford
Cricket Club to emerge undefeated during the tournament and
claim the Championship title.
Cosmos’ first encounter in the championship was on June
18th against the Saskatoon Warriors. In the match played at
Winnipeg’s Assiniboine Park Cosmos won by 4 wickets.
Taking first strike the Saskatoon Warriors lost all ten of
its wickets to be bowled out for 156 in 41.5 overs. Jabir Bin
Hassan was the Warriors’ highest run-scorer with 37 made off
of 46 balls. Bowling for Cosmos, Trevor Manosingh (2/21-6),
Manpreet Buttar (2/23-0) and Amrinder Dhillon (2/30-10)
were the most successful wicket-takers.
Set 157 for victory in 50 overs at the very comfortable required
run-rate of 3.16 Cosmos easily
achieved its target posting 158/6 in
41.5 overs to win by 4 wickets. Vasu
Shah (39), Arminder Jabal (33) and
Kamaljot Romana (31) were the top
run-scorers for Cosmos.
Victory for Cosmos in its June 19th second
match against British Columbia Abbotsford Cricket
Club was just as comfortable as the first. Cosmos’
posted first-strike total of 159/10-46.1 overs proved
to be out of reach of Abbotsford which could only manage
125/10-38.5 overs in reply. Cosmos won by 34 runs to maintain
its unbeaten record at the Championships.
Kmaljot Romana was again Cosmos to scorer with 37 made
off of 42 balls. Avaljit Sandhu chipped in with a very patient 104
balls 36. For Abbotsford, Tajinder Singh Dhillon (3/25-10) and
Gursewak Sidhi (3/41-8) were the most successful bowlers.
Cosmos’ team for the Western John Ross Robertson
Championships was led by Jatinder Matharu. Canadian National
Men’s Team member was also among the Cosmos’ team roster, the remaining members of which
were Arvinder Jabal, Avaljit Sandhu, Kamaljot Singh Romana, Manpreet Buttar, Rjinder Mangli,
Raza Ali, Shivam Sharma, Trevor Manoosingh, and Vasu Shah as its Vice Captain and wicketkeeper.
Cosmos’ roster will also include four reserve substitute players: Kevin Darji, Amardeep
Dhillon, Vaighav Patel and Maryo John, The squad will be managed by Ray Ramrattan.
As one of cricket’s oldest existing championships, the John Ross Robertson Trophy, which began
as far back as 1910, is awarded annually to the top club in Canada. Currently the tournament is
played in two divisions for representative club teams from Eastern and Western Canada at the
conclusion of which joint champions are decided.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *