Super-Over Win Leads Prairies To National Women’s T20 Championships Title!

Prairies emerged as the 2022 Canadian National T20 Women’s Champions, thanks to a super-over victory against Ontario Fire after the teams had played to a tie in their final round-robin encounter of the five-day tournament.

In a super exciting seesaw eight and final tournament match for both teams, Ontario Fire just barely failed to maintain is unbeaten run, managing only to tie the Prairies posted score of 130/7 in the twentieth over. The Prairies then comfortably won the ensuing super over, easily surpassing the 12 runs they had been set victory by their host province opponents. Prairies emerged as tournament champions, thanks to a superior net run rate after both teams had ended the round-robin play with identical 7-1 win-loss records.

Batting first in the tournament’s deciding final match, Prairies posted a challenging 130/6 in its 20 overs. The Kaurs, Amarpal (43) and Arunimaa (31) were once again among the runs, while Prairies’ tournament leading run-scorers Divya Saxena (22) and Danielle McGahey (19) were merely modest contributors. For Ontario Fire, Hiba Shamshad had the best bowling figures of 2/16-3, while Vandana Mahajan took 2/27-4.

Chasing 131 for a victory which would have provided outright championship title honors, Ontario Fire’s batters faltered, losing wickets at crucial stages of their innings. Opener Rhea Misra piloted the innings in scoring 73 off of only 54 balls. She was, however, senselessly run out attempting a second run off the fifth ball of the final over, when at that stage only three more runs were needed for victory. As it was Ontario Fire’s eight-wicket pair of Kainat Qazi (5) and Srishti Raha (1) managed to get only one of the two runs that were required to secure the win from the last ball of the twentieth over. The match thereby ending in a tie with the scores of both teams level on 130.

In the deciding Super Over, Ontario Fire opener Mahajan lasted only one ball as she was dismissed caught behind by McGahey without scoring off Amarpal Kaur. At the end of the over Lavia and Achini Perera were both not out on 5 in Ontario Fire’s posted total of 12.

McGahey struck successive fours of the first two balls of Vandana Mahajan’s bowling to get the Prairies response off to most positive start. She then combined with Amarpal Kaur to comfortably take five singles from the remaining four to easily secure the 13 runs needed for Prairies to clinch the title to the delight of their teammates.

Prairies 130/6 -20 Ovrs. Amarpal Kaur 43, Arunimaa Kaur 31. Hiba Shamshad 2/16-2, Vandana Mahajan 2/27-4.
Ontario Fire 130.7 – 20 Ovrs. Rhea Misra 73. Rahul Pannu 2/22-4, Arunimaa Kaur 2/32-4.
Scores Tied.
Super Over:
Ontario Fire 12/1-1. Achini Perera 5, Terisha Bess Lavia 5/
Prairies 13/0-1. Danielle McGahey 12.
Prairies won the Super Over.

The tournament’s final day matches had gotten off to a sedate start that was far removed from all the super overs drama that was to follow. Ontario Heat started Day Five with a comfortable eight-wickets win over Atlantic Canada. Ontario Heat’s batters easily overhauled Atlantic Canada’s posed first-strike total of 68/8 for which there were only two double-digit scores. Alex Lussier (18) and Rey Blais (13) were the only batters to reach double-figures.

Bowling for Ontario Heat, Skipper Saniyah Zia led from the front with figures of 3/2-2. Rabbjyot Rajput once again defied her youthful age to post impressive figures of 3/15-4 as Ontario Fire’s second most successful bowler. Rajput’s returns took her tournament wickets tally to eleven just three behind Sonali Vig’s fourteen as the highest wicket-taker.

Sunita Dinakar (20) and Habeeba Bader (13) were the top scorers as Ontario Heat easily surpassed the 69 runs victory target set by Atlantic Canada. Only 8.2 overs were required by Ontario Heat’s batters to achieve their victory.

Atlantic Canada 68/8-20 Ovrs. Alex Lussier 18, Rey Blais 13. Sanjiyah Zia 3/2-2, Rabbjyot Rajput 3/15-4.
Ontario Heat 71/2-8.2 Ovrs. Sunita Dinakar 20, Habbeb Bader 13.
Ontario Heat won by 8 wickets.

British Columbia (BC) almost derailed the Prairies championship title aspirations losing narrowly by just two wickets when the two teams met in the second opening match of the fifth and final day. Excellent bowling by Pahul Pannu 3/14-4 and Amarpal Kaur 2/5-3, restricted BC to a posted first-strike total of 84/7 that was highlighted by Mukwhinder Gill’s forty-four balls 45.

Prairies batters, however, struggled surprisingly in reply posting 89/8 off 12.3 overs. Between them Divya Saxena 38 and Danielle McGahey 25 not out contributed 63 off those 89 runs as there were three ducks and as many scores below five among the remaining batters. Mannat Hundal 3/21-4, Mukhwinder Gill 2/19-3 and Sonali Vig 2/25-3 were the main wicket-takers for BC.

British Columbia 84/7-20 Ovrs. Mukwhinder Gill 45. Pahul Pannu 3/14-4, Amarpal Kaur 2/5-3.
Prairies 89/8 – 12.3 Ovrs. Divya Saxena 38, Danielle McGahey 25*
Prairies won by 2 wickets.

Fittingly, while the tournament’s top two teams, eventual champions Prairies and almost perfect Ontario Fire, were battling it out for final outcome honors points table bottom dwellers British Columbia (BC) and Atlantic Province were engaged in a similar battle at the other end of the standings. BC, however, maintained its dominance cruising to a comfortable 8 wickets win over Atlantic Canada whose tournament ended without a single victory.

Batting first, Atlantic Canada were dismissed for 95 in 19/3 overs. Rey Blais ended her fine tournament with an aggressive 23 balls 47. Alex Lussier’s 19 was the only other contribution of note, as Atlantic Canada’s remaining batters wilted in the face of BC’s varied bowling attack. Mukwhinder Gill 2/18-4 was the highest wicket-taker.

Atlantic Canada’s hopes of a final match sneak victory were, however, permanently doused as Sadia Razique 35 not out and Sonali Vig 46 also undefeated, featured in an unbroken third wicket partnership of 96 to make light work of the set total. The two BC batters cruised to victory, scoring 99/2 in just 11.1 overs.

Atlantic Canada 95/10-19.3 Ovrs. Rey Blais 47, Alex Lussier 19. Mukhwinder Gill 2/18-4.
British Columbia 99/2. Sonali Vig 46, Sadia Razique 35.
British Columbia won by 8 wickets.

At the conclusion of the championships, trophies and medals were presented to the Prairies team as tournament winners. There were also presentations to Divya Saxena as the Tournament MVP, Danielle McGahey as the Leading Run Scorer and Sonali Vig as the top wicket-taker.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *