Canada Crowned 2022 South American Women’s Cricket Champions!

Lead by their indomitable all-rounder captain Divya Saxena Canada comfortable defeated
their Brazilian hosts to be crowned 2022 South American Women’s Cricket
Champions. In the October 16th tournament Final between the two teams, Saxena’s
belligerent 36-ball 42 helped Canada to a first strike 125/10 -19.1 ov. total that
proved to be beyond Brazil’s batting capabilities. The hosts falling short by as many as 36

Achini Perera’s 34 (32) and Daniele Mcgahey’s 23 (19) were the other main contributions
to the Canadian innings. For Brazil, Carolina Nascimento 4/9-3.1 and Laura Cardoso
2/26-4 were the main wicket-takers.

Chasing 126 for victory at an initial required run rate of 6.3, Brazil batters were
bamboozled by Saxena’s bowling wiles. The Canadian skipper claimed 4/15 off
her allocated four overs to demolish the Brazilian response. Saxena was well
supported by Mannat Hundal who chipped in with 2/12-3.
Renata Sousa 35 (28) and opener Lindsay Mariano 17 were the only two
Brazilian batter to reach double figures. The innings folded in the 17th
over with the score on 89, some 36 runs shy of the target set by the

Saxena was duly named Player of the match for her outstanding
performances with both bat and ball!

125/10-19.1 Overs Divay Saxena 42, Achini Perera 34, Danielle
Mcgahey 23. Carolina Nascimento 4/9-3.1, Laura Cardoso
89/10-16.6 Overs. Renata Sousa 35, Lindsay Mariano 17. Divya
Saxena 4/15-4, Mannat Hundal 2/12-3.
Canada won by 36 runs.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *