Cricket Ontario’s September Report

BEDCL Mayor Brown XI extended their run to claim their 3rd consecutive Cricket Canada Central T20 title by defeating Manitoba by 15 runs in the final. The tournament hosted by Cricket Ontario was played in Brampton at Dixie 407, Batsman Park, and the final at Teramoto cricket grounds.

The 2021 Cricket Canada Central T20 saw 10 teams do battle for the championship. There were 8 teams from Ontario representing the full members of Cricket Ontario, T&DCA (2), BEDCL (2), HDCL, OVCC, SCA & MCL. The remaining two teams were the visiting provincial squads from Manitoba and Quebec.
BEDCL Mayor Brown XI and Manitoba emerged victorious in their semi-final match ups to do battle in the final. During the group stages, BEDCL Mayor Brown XI were undefeated while handing Manitoba their only loss. This paved the way for an intriguing final match up witnessed by the Mayor of Brampton, Patrick Brown amongst other special guests that were in attendance.

Winning the toss and electing to bat, BEDCL Mayor Brown XI reached a target of 129 runs for 6 wickets off their allotted 20 overs. Their innings was built around an attacking 54 from 51 balls by Jugraj Ghuman who was ably supported by Asad Zaidi with 31 from 28 balls. The pick of the bowlers for Manitoba was Jatinder Matharu claiming 2 for 26 from his quota of 4 overs.
In reply, Manitoba got off to a slow start by losing quick wickets. There were contributions from top scorer Moaz Qazi with 31, Vasu Singh 21, Kamaljit Romana 23 and Araib Khan 24. BEDCL Mayor Brown XI bowling was led by the experienced Salman Nazar with 3/13 from his quota of 4 overs.

Outstanding Performances:
1. Most Runs: Harkamal Sandhu – BEDCL Don Doan XI – 236 Runs
2. Most Wickets: Salman Nazar – BEDCL Mayor Brown XI – 15 Wickets
3. Finals MVP: Jugraj Ghuman – BEDCL Mayor Brown XI – 54 runs

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *