Fury Claims 2021 Men’s National Championships Honors!

A superior net run rate was the deciding factor that allowed Fury to claim title honors at the Wednesday, September 15 conclusion of the 2021 Men’s National Championships played at King City’s Maple Leaf Cricket Club. Fury and the Stallions both ended with identical records of 4 wins, two losses, and 8 points from 6 matches played. Fury’s net run rate of 0.656 was, however, superior to the Stallions’ 0.409 thus allowing the former to claim the honors as 2021 Canadian National Men’s Champions.

Shields with5 points accumulated from 2 wins, three losses, and 1 tie finished third in the standings. Fire’s disappointing record of only 1 win, 4 losses, and 1 tie from its six matches played resulted in its occupation of the cellar position in the standings at the Championships’ conclusion.

There were several outstanding individual performances with both bat and ball during the three day September 13-15, 2021 Championships. Hamza Tariq’s 146 runs aggregate from 6 innings batted for a 48.67 average, placed him atop of the Batting Leaderboard. Tariq was very closely followed by Canadian National all-rounder Saad Bin Zafar, who compiled 140 runs from 5 innings for a 35.00 average.

Aaditya Varadarajan’s aggregate of 139 runs from 5 innings at a 34.75 average placed him third among the leading batters. The numbers four and five spots were occupied respectively by Yasir Abbasi: 125 runs from 5 innings for a 41.67 average, and Hiral Patel 117 runs, 6 innings, 19.50 average.

Rommel Shahzad and Jatinder Matharu both claimed 11 wickets from 6 innings to emerge as the Championships’ leading wicket-takers. Shahzad, however, had slightly better returns than Matharu in terms of both his economy rate and average. Shahzad’s 11 wickets were captured at a 5.04 economy rate and 9.55 average. By comparison, Matharu’s 11 wickets were taken at a 6.05 economy rate and 11.55 average.

Dirshall Patel, with 10 wickets taken at a 5.43 economy rate and 7.6 average, was third on the Bowler’s Leaderboard. Uday Singh captured 8 wickets at a 5.17 economy rate and 11.63 average to finish fourth among the Championships’ top bowlers, narrowly ahead of Junnaid Siddiqui whose identical haul of 8 wickets was captured at a slightly higher economy rate of 6.85 and a somewhat inferior average of 17.13

Saad Bin Zafar accumulated 27.105 points, comprised of 15.58 for batting, 9.024 for bowling and 2.5o for fielding, to emerge as the Championships’ Most Valuable Player (MVP). Jatinder Matharu placed second on the MVP honors list with 25.61 points (6.94 batting, 18,67 bowling, 0.0 fielding), while Rommel Shah’s 21.07 points total (0,19 batting, 20.62 bowling, 0.2 fielding) allowed him to be third in the standings.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *