Allen, Brathwaite, Gabriel, Nurse Included In West Indies World Cup Squad!

Allen, Brathwaite, Gabriel, Nurse Included In West Indies World Cup Squad!

 Fabian Allen, Carlos Brathwaite, Shannon Gabriel and Ashley Nurse have been included in the West Indies Squad of 15 for the 2019 ICC World Cup. There was no place for West Indies Indian Professional League (IPL) stalwarts Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard and Dwayne Bravo.

The full 15 member Squad announced by the West Indies is as follows: Jason Holder (Captain) Fabian Allen, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Chris Gayle, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmeyer, Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Nicholas Pooran, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell and Oshane Thomas.

Talismanic opener Chris Gayle heads a powerful batting line-up that sees the return of fellow left-hander Evin Lewis. Kemar Roach and Shannon Gabriel lead an exciting bowling attack in the preliminary squad of two-time champions West Indies.

Interim chairman of the Cricket West Indies selection panel Robert Haynes announced the squad during a media conference on April 24 at the Sandals Royal Resort.

The 15-member squad includes nine players that will be making their first appearance in the global showpiece, including emerging batting star Shimron Hetmyer, the captain of the West Indies Under-19 side that won its first ever ICC Youth World Cup three years ago in Bangladesh, and the side is boosted with the inclusion of big-hitting all-rounder Andre Russell.

Gayle will be making a record fifth World Cup appearance for West Indies and needs just 253 runs to overtake fellow left-hander Brian Lara and become the leading batsman for the Caribbean side in One-day Internationals. The self-proclaimed, “Universe Boss” is the headline act of a batting line-up capable of changing the complexion of any game with enterprising stroke-play.

Roach will be making his third World Cup appearance and Gabriel his first, and they will be hoping to transfer recent success in the longest version of the game into the ODI format to spearhead the attack.

Jason HOLDER (Captain) Barbados 27 90 One
Fabian ALLEN Jamaica 23 4 None
Carlos BRATHWAITE Barbados 30 33 None
Darren BRAVO Trinidad & Tobago 30 102 Two
Sheldon COTTRELL Jamaica 29 10 One
Shannon GABRIEL Trinidad & Tobago 30 18 None
Chris GAYLE Jamaica 39 286 Four
Shimron HETMYER Guyana 22 25 None
Shai HOPE Barbados 25 49 None
Evin LEWIS Trinidad & Tobago 27 35 None
Ashley NURSE Barbados 30 45 None
Nicholas POORAN Trinidad & Tobago 23 1 None
Kemar ROACH Barbados 30 80 Two
André RUSSELL Jamaica 30 52 Two
Oshane THOMAS Jamaica 22 9 None

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *