The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced
the rescheduled qualification pathway to the ICC Under 19
Men’s Cricket World Cup 2022 in the West Indies, where 33
teams will compete for five World Cup spots.
The 14th edition of the event which takes place in the West Indies in
early 2022 will involve Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England,
India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies
and Zimbabwe by virtue of their top 11 finish in the 2020 edition. The
remaining five spots will be determined by regional qualification.
Qualification for the 2022 edition of the U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup
was delayed by a year due to COVID-19.
The 33 spots will be decided by seven regional events starting
in June 2021. Due to the depth in strength in the Africa and Asia
regions, a two-division qualification pathway will take place.
The road to the West Indies which showcases the future stars of
cricket, will begin in Tanzania with the Africa Division 2 in June 2021.
The hosts, Botswana, Kenya, Mozambique, Rwanda and Sierra
Leone will be fighting for two spots to join Namibia, Nigeria and
Uganda in the Africa Qualifier in September 2021. The qualifier will
be hosted by Nigeria who competed in their first ever ICC event
at the U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2020. The top team from the
September event will secure their spot in the West Indies.
The Asia region which also has two divisions will see two qualifiers
from Bhutan, Hong Kong, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore
and Thailand in Division 2 join Malaysia, Nepal and
UAE nine in the Asia Qualifier to be hosted in the
United Arab Emirates with the top team qualifying
for the West Indies.
The top team from the remaining qualifiers East-
Asia Pacific, Europe and Americas will make up the
Men’s U19 Cricket World Cup line-up.
In Europe, Scotland will host the Qualifier from 30 July
to 5 August and will compete alongside Denmark,
Guernsey, Ireland, Jersey and the Netherlands for
the World Cup spot. USA will host the Americas
Qualifier and will be joined by Argentina, Bermuda
and Canada between 18 and 25 August 2021.
Finally, the EAP qualifier which consists of Indonesia,
PNG, Vanuatu and hosts Japan will take place
between 28 September and 4 October, with the
winner booking their ticket to the West Indies.
Event – ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup Americas
Host – USA
Dates- 18 – 25 August 2021
Participating Teams – Argentina, Bermuda, Canada,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *