ICC Women’s World T20 Tournament Team Announced

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the team of the tournament of the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 based on performances during the 16-day tournament held across three venues in the West Indies. Three players each from England and India, two from Australia and one each from Pakistan, New Zealand and the Windies have been named in the eleven, which was selected by an esteemed selection panel that included three former international players.

PROVIDENCE, GUYANA – NOVEMBER 11: Javeria Khan of Pakistan bats with Taniya Bhatia of India looking on during the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 match between India and Pakistan at Guyana National Stadium on November 11, 2018 in Providence, Guyana. (Photo by Jan Kruger-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

India captain Harmanpreet Kaur, one of two captains to make the squad along with Pakistan’s Javeria Khan, has been named to lead the team, with player of the tournament Alyssa Healy of Australia, India’s left-handed opener Smriti Mandhana and England’s Amy Jones nominated to bat ahead of her.

All-rounders Deandra Dottin of the Windies and Allyse Perry of Australia, and England fast bowler Anya Shrubsole are the seam bowlers in the squad with off-spinner Leigh Kasperek of New Zealand, leg-spinner Poonam Yadav of India and left-arm spinner Kirstie Gordon of England the slow bowlers. Bangladesh’s new-ball bowler Jahanara Alam has been named as the 12th player.

The selection panel comprised former players and commentators Ian Bishop, Anjum Chopra and Ebony Rainford-Brent, journalist Melinda Farrell and ICC’s General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice.

ICC Women’s World T20 2018 Team of the Tournament (in batting order):

Alyssa Healy (Australia) – 225 runs

Smriti Mandhana (India) – 178 runs

Amy Jones (England, wicketkeeper) – 107 runs, 5 dismissals

Harmanpreet Kaur (India, Captain) – 183 runs

Deandra Dottin (Windies) – 121 runs, 10 wickets

Javeria Khan (Pakistan) – 136 runs

Ellyse Perry (Australia) – 60 runs, 9 wickets

Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand) – 8 wickets

Anya Shrubsole (England) – 7 wickets

Kirstie Gordon (England) – 8 wickets

Poonam Yadav (India) – 8 wickets


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *